St. Mary's Cathedral, San Francisco, Sunday Afternoon Musical Meditations

September 28, 2021
St. Mary's Cathedral
Ruffatti organ, Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, San Francisco

The Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, San Francisco, California, announces Sunday Afternoon Musical Meditations for October through December: 

Sunday, October 3, 4:00 pm: Basma Edrees, Violin, with Ava Nazar, Piano. Works by Piazzolla.

Sunday, October 10, 4:00 pm: Lori Jensen, Violin; Natalie Haworth-Liu Pendergast, Flute; Karmen Peng, Violoncello; Jin Kyung Lim, Keyboard Instruments.

Sunday, October 17, 4:00 pm: Christoph Tietze, Organ. Symphony No. 2 by Widor, and the world premiere of Passacaglia by Nalezny.

Sunday, October 24, 4:00 pm: Kathy Mc Kee, Alto; Colby Roberts, Tenor; Jin Kyung Lim, Organ. Works by Bach, Purcell, and Handel.

Sunday, October 31, 4:00 pm: Daria D’Andrea, Violin, with Kevin Navarro, Piano.

Sunday, November 7, 4:00 pm: Byong Moon, Organ (Knowxville, TN).

Sunday, November 14, 4:00 pm: St. Joseph Ensemble with Jin Kyung Lim, Organ. Music for choir and organ.

Sunday, November 21, 4:00 pm: Michal Gaw (Poland), Organ. Works by Reubke, Vierne, and de Grigny.

Sunday, November 28, 4:00 pm: Michal Gaw (Poland), Organ. Works by Bach and Mendelssohn.

Sunday, December 5, 4:00 pm: Jin Kyung Lim, Organ. Don Knuth’s “Fantasia Apocalyptica”, Part I.

Sunday, December 12, 4:00 pm: Jin Kyung Lim, Organ. Don Knuth’s “Fantasia Apocalyptica”, Part II.

Sunday, December 12, 7:00 pm (NOTE TIME!): Pacific Edge Voices, Ash Walker, Director. Seasonal program of choral music.

Sunday, December 19, 7:00 pm (NOTE TIME!): “Cookies and Carols” performance by the St. Brigid School Honor Choir and St. Mary’s Cathedral Choir, followed by cookies downstairs. $25 adults or $15 for students and seniors. Under 5 free.

Sunday, December 26, 4:00 pm: “A Tietze Family Christmas.” Christoph Tietze, Organ and Baritone; Jeanette Wilkin Tietze, Piano and Soprano; Helena Tietze, Cello and Alto; Karl Tietze, Percussion and Bass; Teddy Tietze, Trumpet and Alto; Andrea Butler, Soprano. Christmas Music for voice and instruments.

For information: smcsf.org.

 

Other upcoming events:

East Texas Pipe Organ Festival

Kotzschmar Memorial Organ concerts

University of Michigan Organ conference